Groups
A Group is a set of users that can be assigned a Project Role, giving administrators a way to manage access to Blueprint projects at scale. Navigate to Settings -> User Management -> Groups to access these options.
Group Types
There are two types of Groups in Blueprint:
- Access Group — Project-level groups. Members are granted a scope (which projects they can access) and must have corresponding Project Role assignments for privileges within those projects.
- License Group — Members are granted a license type. There is only one license type available:
- Author — Allows full authoring capabilities across the system.
ⓘ A Group has a single type. It cannot be both an Access Group and a License Group. Assign users to a License Group to set their license type, and to separate Access Group(s) to define their project privileges.
Creating a Database Group
Go to Settings -> User Management -> Groups
Click Add Database Group
Enter a group name
Optional: enter a group email for collective notifications
Select the Group Type:
- If License Group: select the license type
- If Access Group: click Select Scope and choose the project
Click Save
Creating a Windows Group
Go to Settings -> User Management -> Groups
Click Add Windows Group
Instance Administrators with Active Directory configured can add Windows Groups to import all relevant members into Blueprint. See Active Directory and Federated Authentication Settings for setup details.
ⓘ You can create a group without members and add them later.
Adding Users to a Group
Go to Settings -> User Management -> Groups
Find and click the group name
Select the Group Memberships tab
Click Assign Members, select the user(s) or group(s), and click OK
Editing a Group
Go to Settings -> User Management -> Groups
Find and click the group name
Edit as needed and click Save
⚠️ The Group Type cannot be changed after creation.
Deleting a Group
Go to Settings -> User Management -> Groups
Find and click the group name
At the bottom of the Group Details tab, click Delete To delete multiple groups, select the checkboxes next to each group name, click Actions -> Delete