---
title: Delete a Project Group
slug: rm/delete-a-project-group
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-06-09T13:38:45.160Z
---

As a project administrator with the corresponding privileges, you may want to delete irrelevant or outdated Project Groups.

In those cases, you can delete one or multiple Project Groups.

:::hint{type="info"}
To delete Project Groups in the Project Administration Portal, users must have either

a) the "Manage Groups, Project Roles, and Project Role Assignments" privilege in their Project Administrator Role, or

b) the "Administer All Projects" privilege in their Instance Administrator Role.

For more information on Project Administrator Roles, see [Manage Project Administrator Roles](docId\:Eq1A2DjVyMUzu7aa-nfnw). For more information on Instance Administrator Roles, see [Manage Instance Administrator Roles](docId:5GLYXa_hFmjWoam6L6nwK).
:::

:::hint{type="danger"}
Once deleted, any users in that Project Group may lose privileges in the project or Administration Portal. Consider assigning these users to another Project Group before deletion.
:::

To delete a Project Group:

1. In the Administration Portal, click **Projects** and select the project in which you want to delete a Project Group.
   For information on how to access the Admin Portal, see [About the Administration Portal](docId\:aLbD8Z84lBz7JCfOAlGu5).
2. Under **Projects**, click **User Management** and select **Project Groups**.
3. On the Project Groups page displayed, click the group you want to delete.
4. Click **Delete** at the bottom of the page.
5. Click **OK** in the confirmation modal to proceed.

:::hint{type="info"}
Administrators may only manage groups specifically scoped to the project. To manage groups across the instance, please see [Edit Groups](docId\:BDA21hLqLg3Z9OeLtQurw).
:::

